Monochrome Woodland Birthday – Oliver’s First

 

_mg_1149

img_1247_mg_1239

Our sweet baby boy is one!!! We decided to throw a party for him while we were back in the Fraser Valley visiting family and friends in the Community Room at Highstreet. It’s such a wonderful space with white walls, lots of windows, lots of light and enough space for a bunch of littles and their parents.

I absolutely love planning special occasions and Oliver’s birthday has to be my favourite yet. Since, this will probably be the only year where he can’t tell me what kind of theme he wants, I went with what I thought represented his first year. While keeping it simple with the black and white I wanted to add some touches that reminded us of our home in the Rockies (mountains, trees, antlers, wood) and the bears are for his nickname “Ollie Bear”. This is how the Monochrome Woodland theme came to be. I brought some decor pieces from his nursery, his Mushybook for guests to sign and made some decor myself. I absolutely love how it turned out and am so grateful for all the help from my parents and friends to make my vision come to life.

 

 

We used the space for a couple of hours where we played, ate too many treats, opened gifts and Ollie had his own mini cake to smash/eat. Oliver had the best time playing with all his little friends and that made our hearts so full.

 

Lastly, I made up some goodie bags for the littles to take when they left the party. I don’t know if goodie bags are still a thing or not but I grew up with them and thought it would be cute to do some since most of the kids were a bit older than Ollie. Items I included:

  • Bear brownie
  • Simple bear mask (they could colour or decorate at home)
  • A sugar cookie with their initial

 

We had such a wonderful time getting together with friends and family for Oliver’s birthday and I hope as he grows up he knows how blessed he is to have so many loving, caring and amazing people in his life.

Thank you so much again to Highstreet for the use of your community room! 🙂

(All the details/sources at the end for the products.)

Love, B

xo

 

Letter Banner: A little lovely company

Bear Banner & Highchair Tassel: Made by myself

Oliver Blocks: Tree Fort Toys

Babybook: Mushybooks

Birthday Boy Cake topper and “1” shirt: Engravex

Two Green Trees (on dessert table): Blossom with Quik Pik

Cakes and cupcakes: Made by a very lovely friend (Alison)

O marquee letter and Bear mask: Michaels

Entrance sign and “Thank you beary much” sign: Made by myself on Canva

Antlers: The Button Box Boutique

Wooden mountains: Trae Designs

Black and White Goody Bags: Homesense

Tags: Ikea

My Dress: Cabin 108

Ollie’s Shoes: Minimoc

 

Leave a Reply

